Skip to main content Skip to site navigation Skip to contact information
Nonprofit Leadership

Advisory Committee

The MNPL Advisory Committee brings together leaders from the nonprofit and philanthropic sectors to provide strategy, oversight and support for the program.

Advisory Committee members also act as mentors for Master of Nonprofit Leadership students, actively promote the program, and champion the importance of leadership and management education for nonprofit and philanthropic leaders.

Maria Chavez Wilcox
Chair, Advisory Committee
CEO, Childhaven 

Maria Chavez Wilcox is the President of Childhaven, where she oversees all aspects of the agency's operations. She builds and nurtures relationships with everyone who is involved in keeping Childhaven viable – donors, community members, board members and staff. Maria has more than 30 years of experience as a nationally recognized leader of nonprofit organizations. She earned a Master's degree in Education from Boston University, and started volunteering at the Massachusetts Children's Institute. This experience led her to United Way, where she began her career with community-based nonprofits. She worked as a senior manager with United Way of King County, working with larger corporations like Boeing, and served for 15 years as President and CEO of United Way of Orange County, California. As an organizational leader, Maria cites relationship building, strategic thinking and decisiveness as her greatest strengths.

Peter Blomquist
Principal, Blomquist International

Janet Boguch
Owner and Principal, Non-Profit Works

Angie Buysse
Program Director, Seattle Storm Foundation

Gary Davis
Associate Executive Director, Companis
MNPL 2010

Edward Esparza
Policy Associate, Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges
MNPL 2004

Jon Fine
President & CEO, United Way of King County

Dwight Gee
President, Arts Council of Mongolia-US

Ken Gibson
Executive Director, Washington Masonic Charities
MNPL 2003

Lee Harper
Executive Director, Phinney Neighborhood Association
MNPL 2003

Jane Hinton
Executive Director, Powerful Voices

Mari Horita
President & CEO, ArtsFund
MNPL 1999

Julielyn Lakey
Executive Director, Seniors Making Art

Jan Levy
Executive Director, Leadership Tomorrow 

Ray Li
Director for International Advancement, University of Washington
MNPL 2001

Paula Maranyan
Executive Director, Children's Alliance

Dave Osmer
VP for Executive Search Services, Hagel & Company

Kathleen Pierce
Managing Trustee, Kirkpatrick Family Foundation

Laura Rehrmann
President, Rotary Club of Seattle
MNPL 1996

Ruben Rivera-Jackman
Senior Resident Services Manager, King County Housing Authority
MNPL 2003

Sturgis Robinson
Financial Advisor, Key Investment Services
MNPL 2004

Robbie Rohr
Principal, R.K.Rohr Consulting

Rita Ryder
President, Strategic Initiatives YWCA of Seattle/King County/Snohomish County

Patricia Shepherd-Barnes, CFRE
President National MS Society, Greater NW Chapter

Alice Shobe
Director, Building Changes

Josephine Tamayo Murray
Vice President for Public Policy, Catholic Community Services of Western Washington

Jay Thomas
Chief Development Officer, Associated Ministries

Richard Woo
CEO, The Russell Family Foundation

Events and Information Sessions

Alumni & Students at Work