Summer Faculty Fellowship Awards

Congratulations to the 2023 Summer Faculty Fellows!

The Summer Faculty Fellowship program, sponsored by the Office of the Provost and Office of Sponsored Projects, provides financial support for tenure-track or tenured faculty and full-time librarians who are involved in an active program of scholarship, including the scholarship of discovery, integration, application, and teaching.  The program’s goal is to support faculty efforts to build on previous scholarly or creative endeavors or to move projects in a new direction.

This year's recipients and the titles of their projects:

  • PJ Alaimo, PhD (College of Science & Engineering), Structural characterization of important catalysts for pharmaceutical synthesis
  • Jeff Boersema, PhD (College of Science & Engineering), Graph Algebras
  • Sarah Cate, PhD (College of Arts & Sciences), Misguided Blame: The Limitations of the School-to-Prison Pipeline Framework 
  • Elizabeth Dale, PhD (College of Arts & Sciences), Defining social justice philanthropy: How young, wealthy donors give for social change
  • David Fainstein, PhD, NCSP (College of Education), Connection-Centered Community (Triple C) Tutoring
  • Janet Hayatshahi, MFA (College of Arts & Sciences), Nation of Immigrants
  • Kristin Hultgren, PhD (College of Science & Engineering), The evolution of color and claw variation in tropical snapping shrimps: habitat, size, and genomics
  • Jiangmeng (Helen) Liu, PhD (College of Arts & Sciences), A new generation of abortion rights advocates? How social media influencers (SMIs) affect public opinion and motivate civic engagement 
  • Felipe Murtinho, PhD (College of Arts & Sciences), Water sustainability in Costa Rica: Governance in the Context of Climate Change
  • Zhiju Yang, PhD (College of Science & Engineering), Applicable Web Tracking and Advertising Detection using Graph Neural Networks

If you are interested in applying for a 2024 fellowship, note that the call for applications will go out in September 2023. For more information regarding this program click here