Events

September 2022

Ignatian Pedagogy for Sustainability (IPS) DIGITAL Fall workshop 1: Community-Engaged Learning: Carbon Footprints for Business

When: Thursday, September 29 at 7:00-8:30AM (PT); 8:00-9:30AM (MT); 9:00-10:30AM(CT); 10:00-11:30AM (ET)
Where: Zoom at https://xavier.zoom.us/j/98786236454. Password: 189949
Description: Dr. Phillip Thompson, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Director of the Center for Environmental Justice and Sustainability will share Seattle University’s experience developing a Climate Impact Clinic. In 2021, a team of graduate students developed the Climate Impact Guide (CIG) which uses a streamlined version of the United States Environmental Protection Agency’s greenhouse gas emissions calculator to help small businesses determine their baseline carbon footprint. The presentation will also discuss how a second team of students worked with a medium-sized pizza chain to use the CIG and develop recommendations for reducing the company’s carbon footprint. Participants will be asked to consider how their campuses might adopt the CIG process and have their students work with local, small businesses to reduce their climate impacts. Contact Kathleen (smythe@xavier.edu) or Jay (leighter@creighton.edu) with questions about this workshop or ideas for future workshops.

October 2022

Fall Involvement Fair

When: Tuesday, October 4, 11:00AM-2:00PM
Where: The Quad
Description: Come visit us at the annual involvement fair to learn more about the Center for Environmental Justice and Sustainability (CEJS) and ways to get involved! Learn more here.

November 2022

Check back for 2022 events and look back to our past events and monthly themes! 

December 2022

Check back for 2022 events and look back to our past events and monthly themes

January 2023

Check back for 2023 events and look back to our past events and monthly themes!

February 2023

Check back for 2023 events and look back to our past events and monthly themes!

March 2023

Check back for 2023 events and look back to our past events and monthly themes!

April 2023: Earth Month

Check back for 2023 events and look back to past Earth Month events!

May 2023

Check back for 2023 events and look back to our past events and monthly themes!

June 2023

Check back for 2023 events and look back to our past events and monthly themes!

July 2023

Check back for 2023 events and look back to our past events and monthly themes!