Provost Search Update

January 31, 2017

Dear Faculty, Staff and Students,

After meeting with members of the search committee and giving careful consideration to evaluations from our faculty, staff and students, I have decided not to offer the position of provost to either of our current candidates. While both finalists are excellent individuals with strong, relevant experience, I believe we are faced with a unique set of challenges and opportunities that demand we select an exceptional leader with a clear and compelling vision for our university and its academic programs and initiatives. We intend to reopen the search in late summer and interview final candidates on campus in the fall.

I am pleased to announce that Interim Provost Bob Dullea has graciously agreed to continue in the role until such time as a new provost has been appointed. Bob is doing an outstanding job and I very much look forward to continuing to work with him in his interim capacity.

Thank you for participating in the process over the past couple of weeks. Your involvement is extremely important as we seek the next academic leader of our university. A special thank you to members of the Provost Search Committee (listed below), chaired by Maria Bullon-Fernandez and Tim Leary. Their efforts throughout the fall quarter to oversee all aspects of the search process was extraordinary.

Please know I greatly appreciate your involvement in and support of the search for our next provost. I look forward to sharing more information with you about the search process as details become available.


Stephen V. Sundborg, S.J.

Provost Search Committee

Maria Bullon-Fernandez, Co-Chair, Chair and Professor, College of Arts and Sciences
Tim Leary, Co-Chair, Executive Vice President
Alicia Bissonnette, Graduate Student, GSC Representative
Anita Crawford-Willis, Alumna
Marilyn Crone, Vice President for Enrollment Management
Holly Slay Ferraro, Associate Professor, Albers School of Business and Economics
Daisy Garcia, Lecturer, College of Nursing
Leticia Guardiola-Saenz, Assistant Professor, School of Theology and Ministry
Trish Henley, Associate Dean, School of New and Continuing Studies
Katherine Koppelman, Associate Professor, College of Arts and Sciences
Joseph Langenhan, Associate Professor, College of Science and Engineering
Margit McGuire, Director and Professor, College of Education
Sharon Millien, Administrative Assistant, College of Arts and Sciences
Thomas Murphy, S.J., Associate Professor, College of Arts and Sciences
Michael Quinn, Dean, College of Science and Engineering
John Strait, Associate Professor, School of Law
Alvin Sturdivant, Associate Vice President Student Development
Dan Washburn, Associate Dean, Matteo Ricci College
Braden Wild, Undergraduate Student, SGSU Representative
Jason Wirth, Professor, College of Arts and Sciences
Administrative Support: Anne Moran, Office of the Executive Vice President