Deans' Council


Shane P. Martin, Provost (Chair)
Cynthia Dillard, Dean, College of Education
Erica Martin, Executive Director for the School of Theology and Ministry
Joseph M. Phillips, Dean, Albers School of Business and Economics
David Powers, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Amit Shukla, Dean, College of Science and Engineering
Anthony Varona, Dean, School of Law
Kristen Swanson, Dean, College of Nursing
Sarah Barbara Watstein, Dean, Lemieux Library



Administers the common elements of school/college operations within university policy, and serves as a forum on matters pertaining to the schools/colleges. Establishes, within broad university policy, the specific operating policies and procedures required to administer the instructional program. Monitors the execution of policies and procedures. Recommends policy changes to appropriate committees and officers in matters common to schools/colleges.


Binding in matters of administering university academic policy common to schools/colleges. Recommendatory to the Provost regarding university-level academic policy.


Once a month, or at Provost’s discretion. Meetings are closed except to members and invited guests.

Reports To


Notes Distribution

Committee members

Chair or Contact Person/Telephone Number